Fall 2017

There is a certain magic involved in harvesting, preserving, cooking, gifting, and serving food that transcends all its practicalities. Sure, we eat to live, but of course, there is so much more to food than simple nutrition. Growing up, this was the time of year my mom would can and make jam from produce from our garden and trees. She obviously preserved fruits and vegetables so we could eat them later in the year but my memories of helping to pit cherries and pick raspberries and tomatoes and watching her jar all of it up are pure magic.

Part of the magic of cooking is in the learning!

As a teenager, I would often get frustrated with my baking efforts. One day I baked a cake for a friend’s birthday and it came out of the pan in chunks. I had a melt-down and wanted to chuck the whole thing in the garbage when my mom swooped in and suggested that I piece it together. Hidden under a layer of thick, fluffy frosting, no one would be the wiser, she said. That cake turned out very nicely, if I do say so myself. That lesson really hit home with me.

Ever since then, if a cooking project doesn’t turn out the way I think it should, I always take a deep breath and pause before assuming it’s a loss. I’ve tried to pass on this lesson to each of my own kids.

Rather than tell you about all the wonderful things happening at BSC this fall, I want to invite you to look through this brochure, find a class that strikes your fancy and come learn something new. Or…even better…come make some memories! We would love to see you. To me, learning, and making memories is what this season is all about.

Hope to see you soon, upstairs in the BSC Kitchen!
-Leanne

Fall 2017 Brochure Now Available: www.bayviewschoolofcooking.com

Categories: General Blogging, Kitchen with a View | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Feel free to leave a comment!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

